Last week I wrote a post on JD Salinger. In that post you might have noticed that I mentioned Goethe and The Sorrows of Young Werther.

Apparently I was just channeling my inner European, because they were thinking the same thing:

Salinger was not the first best-selling author to inspire a generation; in Europe at least, comparisons are often made between Goethe’s Sorrows of Young Werther and Catcher in the Rye. Salinger also shares membership with Goethe (and Nietzsche) in the club of writers whose work inadvertently helped inspire tragedy: suicides imitating Werther and Mark Chapman invoking Catcher as his inspiration for the assassination of John Lennon.

– Edward Tenner, “Salinger and the Perils of Privacy

Of course, revealing my extreme might-as-well-have-an-EU-passport worldliness was not, in fact, the (only) purpose of this post.

I also wanted to share this cartoon that J sent me from Hark! A Vagrant about the aforementioned Werther:

Don’t you love it when you get jokes about high culture? Doesn’t it make you feel so smart and stuck up (in the good way)?

I think this cartoon deserves a Prince John laugh: Hah, ha. Hah, ha. Ha.

