A lot of people do Music Mondays, and I’m throwing my hat into the ring. Tons of bloggers have their ears to the ground as far as new music, and I know that I certainly get most of my music taste from other people’s recommendations (especially because I’m a 31-year-old-granny who doesn’t like going to concerts because they’re too loud – embarrassing but true). So I thought that maybe, instead of looking at what’s next, I would embrace my not-so-inner grandma, jump into my DeLorean, and go back in time.

I am a great lover of “oldies” – and no, not from the 1980’s, which some very, very young people think is old – I mean the radio definition of “oldies”: songs from the 50’s, 60’s, and early 70’s.

Ricky Nelson, “Garden Party

I love this song by Ricky Nelson, which was part of his comeback in 1972. The story goes that he wrote this song after being booed at Madison Square Garden for playing new music instead of his old stuff. But of course, he was wrong: the crowd was booing because the police were removing some drunk fans from the audience. Anyway, he got a good song out of it.

This song always makes me feel sad, but in kind of a good way. For some reason the melancholy of the music also makes me find his super sweaty face and horrific haircut oddly endearing.

