I’m going to sound like a broken record here, but another one of the many reasons I love Pinterest is that the boards I follow are always introducing me to new artists. I don’t know BB, but she’s on my cool kids list because she just introduced me to Yelena Bryksenkova.

Yorkshire Dales
Yorkshire Dales
You know I don't like talking on the phone
You know I don’t like talking on the phone
Sleep
Sleep

These last two are part of a collection called Private Lives about “quiet daily life in a big city.” I’m kind of smitten by that idea, especially when it’s a painting of a girl sleeping on a mattress on the floor. (Is it on the floor? That seems so perfectly first-apartment-in-New-York).

If that’s not enough to get you to like this girl, the clothing in the first painting is by Izzy Lane (a clothing line that uses wool from sheep which have been saved from slaughter).

One final bonus: she loves Haruki Murakami and Banana Yoshimoto—two of my absolute faves.

Love it all.

Yelena Bryksenkova: Website / Shop / Blog / Tumblr

