Pothole Garden

A Pothole Garden

Hello dear readers. What exciting things do you have planned for your weekend?

J and I are heading over to Dia:Beacon tomorrow with my MoMA class for a lecture on Sol LeWitt, Robert Mangold, Robert Ryman, and Agnes Martin. There’s pretty much a 100% chance that it’s going to be completely fabulous.

Next week is going to be a fun week on greenapril. I’m participating in two photo projects: the One Sydney Road Alphabet Walk Blog Hop and Shrimp Salad Circus‘s Get Perspective Project. Tuesday is my day for the Alphabet Walk: I’m doing the letter H—see the full schedule here. (Choosing a letter was an extremely difficult decision, btw.) Lindsay from Shrimp Salad has chosen the theme of “gone” for the first round of Get Perspective and is choosing 6 photos from all of the participants to post on her blog. I only get to submit one photo for her consideration, but “gone” is such an interesting idea that I’ve decided to post a few more here next Thursday, as well as some of my favorites from the group pool.

Here’s some cool stuff to read:

The Millions has put together a list of five apocalypse novels you should read this summer (or at least before 2012).

Here is a great interview with one of my favorite bloggers: Meighan O’Toole from My Love For You. After reading this I’m totally convinced that she should be my new best friend.

Two cameras I want to adopt into my little camera family: the Zumi Digital and (gasp) the Holga Da digital Holga. O. M. G.

Are you an interior designer who needs a little validation? Design Matters wrote up a list about why you’re important. Great news: you have a purpose!

Here’s some cool stuff to see:

You have to see these amazing mapcuts (a map where all of the land it cut out, and all that’s left are the “paths, nodes, circles, boulevards, parks and streets”) by Karen O’Leary. If like that (or if you don’t), also check out WAFA’s Zine 01 / Maps. It’s kind of a collection of maps, but in totally brilliant format that makes me want to create something like it (which is a mighty high compliment). (both via Lauren Schoen)

People are really great. Especially Pete Dungey who filled potholes in his town with tiny gardens. (via @rawtoastdesign)

Sara Fanelli is my new cool icon. She made this incredible timeline of the artists in the Tate Modern and their respective movements. They were apparently so awesome that the Tate decided to display them as massive vinyl decals on the walls of the museum. New life goal: get something, anything, displayed massively in the Tate Modern. (via Public School)

Have a great weekend everybody. See you on the flip side.

