Explosure by Tierney GearonUntitled, 2008 (from Explosure) by Tierney Gearon

Hello all. What are you up to this weekend?

I am looking forward to this weekend so very, very much because J and I are going on vacation! Hallelujah!

Instead of going to Europe as we’ve done the past two years, we’re going to be heading out to the mountains to have a nice long week of R&R. J is hoping to do some writing, I’ll be doing some reading and photographing. And the best part is that we get to take Wally with us!

While I’m gone, I’m going to participate in Susannah Conway‘s August Break (check out the very cute button under Cool Kids Clubs). This means that instead of my regular posting schedule, I’m going to be posting at least one photo a day from my vacation. I might add a caption, I might not—but I will post something to let you know what’s going on. Unlike some other blogging friends, I’m not going to do this for the whole month of August, but I thought it would be a nice way to capture the week that I’m on vacation. (Regular posting will resume on Monday, August 16.)

Here are some good things to read:

Dean Radinovsky has a hidden chapel under 57th Street. Make an appointment to go see it before it’s gone.

I love books, and I love book covers. Take a look at how some classics have changed over the years.

Speaking of books, this collector has over 700 books of the same title.

Vicky has compiled a list of her favorite zines which might end up being some of your favorites too. Her own zine is pretty awesome as well. (via That Kate)

Here are some good things to see (there were a lot of them this week!):

I prefer simple lines and typography, so I loved these beautiful invitations for men via Frolic and Paper Crave (via @twigandthistle).

Please take a minute to check out Mrs. Limestone’s photos from her trip to South Africa. Amazing. (Last night I met someone from South Africa and all of a sudden my wanderlust automatically kicked into South Africa fixation overdrive. )

Apparently everyone was out discovering fantastic new photography this week, so let me pay it forward (isn’t that phrase just the worst best?):

Have a wonderful weekend!

