Lately I’ve been on the hunt for some great city posters.

I’m really fascinated by how cities advertise themselves, and how designers choose to depict the culture of a city. (I have a love for cities in general, large and small.) And I think posters are an almost perfect “canvas” for graphic design. (If you don’t believe me, check back on Sundays for 2 Gigs / 1 Artist.) For some reason, though, well-designed, non-photography based city posters are hard to find. Why is that?

This collection of Chi-town posters tell my that Chicago is pretty proud of its transit and its tall spiky buildings. What do you think?

By the way, why are so many of these posters in blue and green? Is that a Chicago thing?

Jay SchaulJay Schaul

Ervine MetzlErvine Metzl for the Chicago Rapid Transit Line (via Flickr)

Ork PostersOrk Posters

Anderson Design GroupAnderson Design Group

Heads of StateHeads of State

If you know of somebody making some good city posters, let me know in the comments or shoot me an email.

